Watch ICC World Twenty20 Live Online with a VPN

Cricket MatchThe ICC World Twenty20 is the international championship of Twenty20 cricket. In this case, ICC stands for International Cricket Council. This bi-annual tournament consists of 16 teams including full and affiliate teams. The next event will be played in 2018 with a possible location of South Africa. There are several partners that are broadcasting the tournament. If you have access to one of them, you’re all set. If you don’t or are traveling abroad, you would need to use a VPN.

Best VPN for the ICC World Twenty20

RankVPN ServiceOur
1ExpressVPN9.8160Visit ExpressVPN
2NordVPN9.487Visit NordVPN
3Private Internet Access9.295Visit PIA

As we mentioned, you can view the tournament with a number of ways online. Here are some of the best options.

  • Star Sports (India) – A free website to stream the games, but not available outside of India or Pakistan.
  • BBC iPlayer (UK) – Another free website to stream the matches, but not available outside the UK.
  • Channel 9 (Australia) – Free Australian only website
  • ESPN 3 (USA) – American website that requires a cable or satellite subscription and a location in the US.

Other paid options include:

  • Sky Sports (UK)
  • YuppTV (Europe)
  • Fox Sports (Australia)
  • OSN (Middle East)
  • Willow TV (USA)
  • SuperSports (South Africa)

These are great choices if you live in these regions. However, with a VPN you can connect to a server in those locations. Whether you choose a free or paid option, using one will help you gain access.

Though Cricket tournaments have been around for some time, the World Cup T20 (as it is sometimes called) was only started in 2007. The new format was created in response to dwindling crowds and reduced sponsorship with the longer games. The intention was to deliver a fast-paced and exciting game to make it more accessible to the thousands of fans that got bored with longer versions.

The first official games of the new format were played in June of 2003.  In the first tournament of this new style, there were only 6 teams. Over time, the tournament has been expanded to the 16 teams we mentioned earlier. Some of these teams eligible to play include England, New Zealand, Pakistan, India, South Africa, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Scotland, Zimbabwe, United Arab Emirates, Netherlands, Hong Kong, and a few more. The most successful team in this tournament is from the West Indies.

Whether you enjoy watching Cricket in the new style or yearn for the days of longer matches, you are sure to love watching the T20.  If you have friends that like to watch, be sure to share this post with them so they can watch the ICC World Twenty20 as well. Don’t forget to follow us on Twitter @VPNFan for the latest VPN deals.

A VPN service will help protect your online privacy and unblock sites from around the world. We support a free and open Internet.